A Month In Review

You may say I’m Lazy but I’m a beginner blogger so I’m still trying to get the hang of this. I always have great ideas for post but get busy and never put time aside to post them. So this post is a recap of everything that I wanted to post since my last post. YES, I know that was over a month ago.

My 30 Day Challenge – well this didn’t go as well as I had planned but you always learn something about yourself when you challenge yourself and fail.
“A young apprentice applied to a master carpenter for a job. The older man asked him, “Do you know your trade?” “Yes, sir!” the young man replied proudly. “Have you ever made a mistake?” the older man inquired. “No sir!” the young man answered feeling certain he would get the job. “Then there’s no way I’m going to hire you,” said the master carpenter, “because when you make one, you won’t know how to fix it.” I try to look at ever situation as an opportunity to learn and grow and not to be so hard on myself when I make a mistake.

Giving up coffee – I just couldn’t do it. I did not partake in any coffee for 2 ½ weeks. I did not have any physical withdrawal symptoms so I feel confident that I don’t need coffee to get through the day. I just really love coffee and it makes me happy so I’m not giving it up at this time!!

This is how I felt about giving up coffee...

This is how I felt about giving up coffee…

I love ice coffee in a mason jar!!

I love ice coffee in a mason jar!!

Sand, Mud, Snow – We live a pretty busy life going from one event to the next and sometimes I wonder if it’s ever going to slow down? Last month we did the Warrior Dash race (ended up covered in mud), had a BBQ at the beach and flew out that night on a red eye straight to the snow. I love our crazy busy life!!

From the mud, to the sand, to the snow

From the mud, to the sand, to the snow

Aquaponics – My birthday present last year was an aquaponics system that my husband built. It’s taken a couple months to get it going and we are finally starting to see the fruits of our labor. Growing vegetables/fruits/herbs with no soil and instead of watering your plants you feed your fish is a new concept to us so we are continually learning how this works…

Cherry Tomatoes

Cherry Tomatoes

This is our raft where we grow mixed greens and manoa lettuce

This is our raft where we grow mixed greens and manoa lettuce

Peeling eggs – I don’t know about you but peeling boiled eggs can be such a task for me sometimes. One day I can peel a dozen eggs in 3 minutes and the next day it takes me 5 minutes to peel 2 and in the process half the white of the egg is lost. FRUSTRATION at its finest. Peeling organic eggs was nearly impossible. I read that the fresher the egg is the harder it will be to peel. This made sense since my costco eggs usually peeled much easier than local organic eggs. However, there still was no consistency until a friend of mine told me her little secret and I’m going to share it with you because it’s changed my life. The secret to perfect boiled eggs is to bring a pot of water to a boil. Add eggs to the pot of boiling water and set the kitchen timer to 10 minutes. After 10 minutes remove the pot from the stove to the sink and run cold water over your eggs. Peel without any trouble. Done 

Do you ever have problems peeling eggs?

Do you ever have problems peeling eggs?

Beach day – Going to the beach used to be a daily affair for me. As I was saying earlier we have a crazy busy life and getting to the beach is a rare event for me. I’m working on changing that…

Beach day with London cousins!!

Beach day with London cousins!!

Got a job – After months of searching I will finally be joining the “9 to 5” world. I’m excited, anxious, nervous, scared, etc…

Lemon water – I still have gift certificates from our wedding (which made 2 years ago just the other day) and finally got around to using them. Picked up this gigantic mason jar jug which I fill with filtered water, lemon, mint, and sometimes strawberries. We drink a lot of water so it’s nice to change it up sometimes and our garden is overflowing with mint so I needed to figure out how to use it.
imagephoto

Favorite Trees are blooming – I’m in love with Jacaranda trees and can’t get over just how beautiful they are!!
favoritetrees

Jalapeno Nachos – When we go to the UH basketball or volleyball games my husband can’t resist the nachos. He always gets extra jalapenos just for me!! I love spicy food but can’t stand nacho cheese.

Jalapeno overload!!

Jalapeno overload!!

Green Tea – Loving this Super Green Tea with Matcha, Sencha, & Orange from Good Earth!!

Mason-jar + purple straw = standard beverage container

Mason-jar + purple straw = standard beverage container

Reading Books – I’m not much of a shopper so most of my money is spent on books. A friend of mine told me that she recently got a library card and I thought what a great idea to save money. So thank you to my friend Jaymee I will now be spending less money on books and maybe I’ll be half as fashionable as she is now that I will have money to spend on clothes.

Almond Milk – I’ve decided that I should start making my own almond milk again. I read an article on carrageenan. Carrageenan is derived from red seaweed and is used as a thickener, stabilizer, and/or emulsifier in many dairy (sour cream, yogurt, icecream) and non-dairy alternatives. Research links carrageenan to gastrointestinal inflammation, lesions and even colon cancer in animals. You should look into this ingredient and make your own informed opinion.
I’ll be posting my recipe for homemade almond milk as it’s so simple to make and doesn’t contain any preservatives or harmful substances, so you can drink it without fear.

The first step in making almond milk is soaking your almonds...

The first step in making almond milk is soaking your almonds…

I’m in Love with Sage! – One herb I can’t get enough of right now is sage. It’s so delicious that I want to put it in everything. Look for my recipe tomorrow for Roasted Red Pepper Sage Dipping Sauce!!

Now if I can just get in to the habit of posting all my ideas and recipes…

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

